The Failing God (On Poetry)

Illustration by Olag Illustration

It floods, it creeps, it burns and reeks
Within the scorching blood it weeps
Of pasts, tomorrows, and days afar;
Flaming flames to feeble stars.

It seeks, it bleeds, it kills and feeds
Upon such days, regretted deeds:
I shut them through and through in vein,
Pouring pain upon my pain.

Hurting to heal I happily burn
The heart I hope to yearn and learn
Forging words, the sons of broil
Of beauties and evils that toil and coil.

If words be eternal, I am a god,
Who failed at endings forever flawed.
I, the poet whose name shall long be stained
Shall seem the gleam of suns be drained.

One thought on “The Failing God (On Poetry)

Leave a Reply

